Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola has been named manager of the year by England’s League Managers’ Association, it was announced on Monday.

Guardiola steered City to the Premier League title and League Cup this season and this Saturday the Spaniard’s side

will bid on the King’s crown of Europe for the first time when they face English rivals Chelsea in the Champions League final in Porto.

Former Barcelona and Bayern Munich manager Guardiola topped a poll where the other leading contenders were

Leeds’ Marcelo Bielsa, Norwich’s Daniel Farke, Chelsea women’s manager Emma Hayes, West Ham’s David Moyes, and Leicester’s Brendan Rodgers.

“I am happy to win the LMA Manager of the year award for the second time,” said Guardiola.

“It is, for me, such a special trophy to win because the votes came for by my fellow managers. An award

like this is only possible though if top professionals surrounds a manager.

He Added

“My players have been fantastic — their dedication and professionalism never wavered, even in a season that has been

the most challenging we have ever faced,” added the 50-year-old, whose mother died during the coronavirus pandemic.

“And my staff are also deserving of the highest praise. I am so lucky to have a team of people who give everything

they have every single day to make sure Manchester City are the best we can be.

“I dedicate to and share with them, this award” He said.

Alex Ferguson, the multiple trophy-winning former manager of Manchester United, and now an LMA committee

member, paid tribute to Guardiola by saying: “As well as being a truly gifted manager and leader, you always

display admirable humility and composure and I am sure your family must be very proud of you.”

Guardiola’s award came just days after they announced that they have voted City defender Ruben Dias

the footballer of the year by England’s Football Writers Association.

By Victoria E.I

Follow also;

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *