Inauguration of the State Chairmen of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) on Thursday held the long-awaited inauguration of the State Chairmen at the party’s National Secretariat in Abuja.

Besides, the inauguration, which was held amid tight security, witnessed the absence of some key stakeholders of the party, including Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed; Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola;

Furthermore in absentia were the Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Festus Keyamo; and also the immediate past governor of Ogun State, Ibikunle Amosun.

Also, the party Secretariat was allegedly surrounded by heavily armed policemen to curtail anticipated protests by factions in some of the states.

However, after hours of a closed-door meeting with the elected State chairmen and the Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC), the inauguration was led by the National Secretary of the party, Senator John Akpanudoedehe, who simply said, “I am here to present you with the certificate of return.”

However, a total of 35 out of 37 States, including the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), were represented, with Kano and Sokoto States missing at the inauguration.

It was also gathered that the two missing States are not unconnected to unresolved crises after the conduct of the State Congresses.

Lists of the States and their Chairmen

So, these are the states present with their chairmen are Abia, Dr. Kingsley Ononogbu; Adamawa, Alh. Ibrahim Bilal; Akwa-Ibom, Augustine Ekanem; Anambra, Hon. Basil Ejike; also, Bauchi, Babayo Aliyu Misau; Bayelsa, Chief Dr. Denis Otiotio; Benue, Hon. Augustine Agada; Borno, Hon. Ali Bukar Dalori; Cross River, Barr. Alphonsus Ogar Eba; Delta, Omeni Aruoture Sobotie; also, Ebonyi, Stanley Okoro Emegha; Edo, Col. David Imuse; Ekiti, Barr. Paul Omotosho; Enugu, Chief Ogochukwu Agballah; FCT, Hon Abdulmalik Ahmed U.; Gombe, Nitte K. Amangal; Imo, Hon. Macdonald Ebere; and also, Jigawa, Aminu Sani Gumel; Kaduna, Air Cmdr. Ek Jekada Rtd; Katsina, Sani Ali Ahmad; Kebbi, Abubakar Muh’d Kana; Kogi, Hon. Abdullahi Bello.

Furthermore, they include Kwara, Fagbemi S. Adeniran; Lagos, Cornelius Ojelabi; Nasarawa, Dr. John D. W. Mamman; Niger, Hon. Haliru Z. Jikantoro; Ogun, Chief Yemi Sanusi; Ondo, Engr. Ade Adetimehin; also, Osun, Prince Gboyega Famodun; Oyo, Hon. Isaac Omodewu; Plateau, Hon. Rufus D. Bature; Rivers, Emeka Beke; Taraba, Ibrahim Tukur El-sudi; also, Yobe, Alh. Mohammed Sadaka; and Zamfara, Tukur Umar Danfula.


So, In his address, the Chairman of the State Chairmen of APC, Hon. Bukar Dalori of Borno State also expressed his gratitude to party leaders and members for the confidence reposed in them.

He equally lauded the National Chairman, Governor Mai Mala Buni on his leadership dexterity in moving the party forward.

Bukar further said, “We have watched Your Excellency lead our party with an unimpeachable commitment to move the party forward and carrying all members and leaders along.

“In the last few months, we have witnessed leadership finesse in the manner party affairs are conducted. There is no doubt that Your Excellency has brought your experience to bear in piloting the affairs of our great party.

“Despite the COVID-19 pandemic and the limitations associated with it, your practical ingenuity to still mobilize people to join the party will go down memory lane as being uncharacteristically magnificent.

“We remember vividly how all the Committees, especially the Women and Youths Mobilisation Committee led by Governor Yahaya Bello deployed the media to market our party to millions of Nigerians. APC is indeed blessed with great leaders.”

Finally, he urged the Caretaker Committee to continue to encourage the Reconciliation Committee to complete its assignment in the best interest of the party.

He also charged his colleagues to “use this opportunity to assure members in our respective states that we shall work with every party member to ensure APC protects Nigeria from those who destroyed it in the past.”

By Taiyelolu A

Also, Follow:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *