Twitter removes Nigerian president's 'abusive' civil war post | Nigeria  News | Al Jazeera

List of States to Host 4 New Universities as Buhari Gives Approval, Okays N18bn Take-Off Grant

So, report that the minister of education, Adamu Adamu, been in representation by the ministry’s permanent secretary, Sonny Echono, disclose this at a media briefing in Abuja on Monday, June 21.

President Muhammadu Buhari has also approved N18 billion for the establishment of the four specialised universities,

List of states to host the new universities

1. Jigawa state 2. Akwa Ibom state 3. Osun state 4. Bauchi states

Adamu also said the federal government will establish a National Institute of Technology (NIT) in Abuja to serve

essentially as a postgraduate centre devoted to research and innovation.

However, The minister notes that the move is in line with a promise by the Buhari administration to establish an apex

National Institute of Technology (NIT) in Abuja with six satellite universities of technology,

one in each geo-political zone of the country.

He also said the NIT will be in pattern after similar institutions in Singapore and Malaysia.

Four other existing technology universities are due for upgrade Meanwhile, the federal government has resolve

to upgrade and equip four existing Universities of Technology.

Those due for upgrade are: 1. University of Technology, Yola (northeast) 2. Also University of Technology, Akure (southwest) 3. University of Technology, Owerri (southeast) 4. University of Technology, Minna (northcentral)

Two of the four new universities will also be technology-focused and would be established in 2021.

Furthermore, The remaining two will focus on health, nutrition and medical sciences as Nigeria takes a strong step to

medical tourism to countries like India, UAE, Egypt, Europe and the United States.

Out of the N18 billion take-off grant approved for the new project, N4 billion each will be allotted to the

two Universities of Technology and N5 billion each to the two Universities of Health Science.

So, The funding will be drawn from the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund). The upgrade of the existing four universities of technology and the national institute of technology would come up in 2022.

By Taiyelolu A

Also Follow:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *