A photo taken on April 22, 2021, shows the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, presiding over the National Economic Council (NEC) meeting attended by state governors, ministers, and others.

The National Economic Council (NEC) has affirmed that there was no printing of N60 billion or any other amount whatsoever to shore up allocation for the month of March.

This was the position of the state governors after a critical review of the claim during the NEC meeting

The meeting had the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, as the chairman on Thursday.

They took the decision following presentations from the Minister of Finance, Zainab Ahmed; Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Godwin Emefiele, and Chairman of the Nigerian Governors’ Forum (NGF), Kayode Fayemi.

In their remarks, the minister and CBN governor debunk the allegation of the printing of money to augment the allocation

The NGF chairman also supported the conclusion while NEC affirmed same as the highest constitutional body tasked with economic affairs.

The Council Expresses Satisfaction-NEC Debunks Printing N60bn

“The Council expressed satisfaction with clarifications made by the NGF represented by its Chairman, Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State;

Finance Minister, Zainab Ahmed, and the Central Bank Governor, Mr Godwin Emefiele, on the alleged printing of N60 billion by the Federal Government,”

said a statement by the Vice President’s spokesman, Laolu Akande.

On the resolution of security concerns in parts of the country, the Council unanimously affirmed the unity of Nigeria;

Adding it would adopt the report of the national town hall meeting on National Unity and Security held in Kaduna.

It welcomed the outcome of the townhall meeting and urged all state governments to hold wider consultations across the country

According to Akande, a national consensus will be reached thereafter on the recommendations which included the adoption of state police,

The meeting attended by many of the state governors, also had in attendance the ministers of transportation, information, aviation and water resources,

as well as the Minister of State for Budget and National Planning.

Follow also:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *