Sierra Leone Qualify For First AFCON In 25 Years

Kei Kamara converted a penalty to take Sierra Leone to the Africa Cup of Nations for the first time since 1996 with a 1-0 win over Benin on Tuesday in a qualifier twice postponed due to a coronavirus tests drama.  

Unattached Kamara, a 36-year-old forward who left Major League Soccer outfit Minnesota United last year,

netted after 19 minutes in Nongo near the Guinean capital, Conakry.

Victory qualified Sierra Leone on goal difference after they finished level on seven points with Benin in Group L, which Nigeria won comfortably.

It was the first win for the Leone Stars in the mini-league after four draws, and an away defeat by Benin two years ago.

The qualification of Sierra Leone ended a Covid-19-induced saga spanning four months over who would fill

the final berth at the biennial showcase of African football.

It began on March 30 in the Sierra Leone capital, Freetown, where Benin refused to take the field after they told five of the starting line-up that they had tested positive for Covid-19 just before the kickoff.

The Sierra Leoneans conducted the tests and Benin alleged that they falsified the results to rob the team

of five stars, including Steve Mounie, who played for then Premier League club Huddersfield Town.


Sierra Leone appealed to CAF and Benin to the Switzerland-based Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS),

with both seeking a 3-0 victory and qualification.

Each appeal was rejected and CAF ordered the match to be replayed this Monday with the venue switched to Nongo

near Conakry because the national stadium in Freetown was not up to international standards.

Ahead of the second attempt to resolve who finished second, all the Sierra Leone players tested negative only for six reserves to be declared positive just before the kickoff.

They didn’t give any reason for the dramatic change, after the tests conducted by CAF, and when Sierra Leone declined to play, they put the match in back 24 hours.

Sierra Leone join 23 other countries who have secured places at the Cup of Nations, including defending

champions Algeria, hosts Cameroon and record seven-time title-holders Egypt.

Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Comoros, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory

Coast, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, Sudan, Tunisia and Zimbabwe are the other qualifiers.

The Cup of Nations, which schedule was originally for early this year, will begin on January 9 and conclude on February 6 with the final in Yaounde.


By Victoria E.I

Follow also;

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *